Falling For Korean Dramas

Love Rain (2012) a.k.a. my current obsession

I’ve fallen in love with Korean Dramas (which is appropriate considering their subject matter). Before watching them, I’d been aware of Korean cinema for a several years – thanks to my undergraduate degree I got to study films like Bin Jip by Kim Ki-duk. I loved Bin Jip so much I quickly consumed as many of Kim’s films as I could find at my local video store (I miss you Casa Video!). And of course, I’ve seen the classic Old Boy from Park Chan-wook – I think the film is now a mainstay on the Cinephile Must Watch List, especially for those with an interest in what comes out of Asia.

bin jip

Kim Ki-duk’s Bin Jip (2004)

When I was an undergrad, I spent one of my summers working for University Conference Services. It was one of those great campus jobs where you get to live on campus with the rest of your fellow employees. During the day, we would go through the different dorms on campus and get them ready for various summer programs that housed people on campus. You know, sports camps, astronomy camps, etc. For whatever reason, a majority of my coworkers were Korean. They were all U of A students from a variety of majors who needed summer jobs to meet some specific requirements for their exchange program. Maybe there were people from other places, but everyone in my wing of the dorm was from Korea and I spent most of my time with them. I will never forget all of the ladies running home after we’d finished working to watch dramas together in their rooms. I really wanted to join in, but none of their shows were subtitled and I was too shy to ask to join them, especially since it added the burden of them having to translate everything for me. They were so passionate about their shows, I didn’t want to do anything to lessen their enjoyment. They were serious about these stories. Right around the time I was working up my nerve to ask them more, I ended up quitting the job because I was having health issues.

the-princess-s-man-korean-dramas-24686032-550-371

The Princess’ Man (2011)

The idea of watching a Korean Drama always appealed to me ever since. What was it that had so many of my friends absolutely entranced in their shows? It seemed like it was right up my TV obsessive alley. I don’t exactly remember when I finally decided to take the plunge – it was at least a summer ago, if not two. I couldn’t remember any of the shows the ladies had been watching that summer, so I logged into my Hulu account and selected Scent of A Woman completely at random. The title jumped out at me, since it’s also the name of a 1992 film staring Al Pacino and I wondered if the show was somehow inspired by the movie. Without going into detail about the show,  I will say that yes, the movie plays a role in the drama.

scent-of-a-woman-korean-drama-poster

Scent of a Woman (2011)

I really don’t know what I was expecting, but I loved it. It was amazing and it made me cry. My friends will tell you that I’ve used the phrase “I like things that make me cry” more times than I could hope to count. I’m not an easy crier, but when I do, it’s like a river. And something doesn’t have to be sad to make me cry – it can be happy, inspiring, funny…(the list goes on). I ran the twitter feed for Educating [Geeks] during Cosmos this season and it’s pretty obvious that I’ve emptied an entire box of tissues over Cosmos. Soyeah.

49-Days14

49 Days (2011)

Since Scent of A Woman I’ve watched about 5 series and so far every one I’ve picked I’ve liked. I’ve been desperately looking for someone to watch / talk about my dramas with, but so far no one is interested in joining me. Since this kind of crap is what the internet was invented for, I figured I’d take to the airwaves. Come find me drama fans! What shows have you watched? Which have you liked or disliked? Which are your favorites?

I Do, I Do (2012)

I Do, I Do (2012)

4 comments

  1. ctfrsgp · November 19, 2014

    Hi,

    I am a noona fan of Joo Won (주원) who is a young (27 years old) but really talented and hardworking actor. He was a musical actor before his K-drama debute “Baker King, Kim Tak Gu” in 2010. [http://www.dramabeans.com/tag/joo-won/]

    I would recommend his dramas to you if you have not seen any of them yet. His best performances are in “Gaksital” (aka Bridal Mask) and “Good Doctor”. At the moment, his new drama “Naeil’s Catabile” is being telecasted in South Korea (read the recap & review here – http://www.dramabeans.com/tag/cantabile-tomorrow/).

    Joo Won is one of the rare young Korean actors who won hearts of fans by his amazing acting skills and who works hard towards his goal of becoming an university professor in acting in future, instead of like the other young artistes who are after fame and materialistic comfort.

    • Megan C · November 19, 2014

      I’ve been thinking about checking out “Naeil’s Catabile” it’s streaming on Drama Fever as “Tomorrow’s Cantabile”. Adding it to my list for sure! Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. kaaaaaaat · December 2, 2014

    Hi! Huge Asian drama fan here. 😀 I can go on and on about dramas I loved (and didn’t), but I’ll just recommend some of the more recent ones.

    Secret Love Affair; Witch’s Romance (this was a remake from the Taiwanese drama, but I liked it much better, surprisingly); Marriage not Dating; Discovery of Romance; The Three Musketeers (this one’s a fusion historical drama that’s based on the Three Musketeers, and I liked it a lot).

    For currently airing shows, I’m currently loving Misaeng and Pinocchio. 😀

    • Megan C · December 2, 2014

      All ones I haven’t seen! My list of must watch just got longer 😀

      I’ve had Pinocchio on my list because I love Park Shin Hye. I could not get over how different she was between You’re Beautiful and The Heirs. Can’t wait to watch another with her.

      Also really want to see The Three Musketeers. I really liked the historical concept for that story.

      I’ve got some ideas for blogging about dramas I’m planning to watch in the future that I hope you’ll like. 😀

Leave a Reply

